PARO Resident Teaching Award

As in previous years, the PARO Trust Fund will provide an award of $1,000 each to two winners from every university centre in Ontario. This award acknowledges two senior residents who have provided outstanding clinical teaching experiences to junior residents and clinical clerks. The winners are also invited to the PARO Clinical Teaching Awards Banquet, traditionally held in May.


  1. The award is given annually to two senior residents who exemplify outstanding clinical teaching achievement at his/her teaching institution.
  2. The resident nominated must be registered with the Postgraduate Medical Education Office in a program leading to certification towards either the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada or the College of Family Physicians of Canada.
  3. Nominations should be made by junior residents and clinical clerks. The letter must include the name of the resident, the reason for the nomination and explain how the resident demonstrated excellence in clinical teaching.
  4. The nomination letter must be forwarded to the resident’s Program Director.
  5. The Program Director will forward up to two nominations accompanied by a letter of support for each nominee to the Postgraduate Medical Education Office.
  6. Please submit the nomination package in PDF via email to Arlene McKinley at


If you have any questions, please contact Arlene McKinley.

Current & Past Award Recipients

Please see below a list of award recipients.

2023Michael Nguyen
Stephanie Kuntz
2022Asfandyar Mufti
Ryan Muir
2021Susan Armstrong
Priti Gros
2020Rebecca Cherniak
Massimo Tarulli
2019Elizabeth Miazga
Andrew Gao
2018Rajesh Bhayana
Cathryn Sibbald
2017Mathew Leonardi
Karen Wang
2016Michael Corbo
Dimitrios Tsirigotis
2015Alireza Mansouri
Heather Millar
2014Michael Fralick
Debra Hamer
2013George Porfiris
2012Thamer Al Abbasi
Derek MacFadden
2011Nikola Grujich
Michel Shamy
2010Yvette Miller-Monthrope
Jiwon Oh
2009Michael Ko
Richard Swartz
2008Efrem Mandelcorn
2007Hans Katzberg
2006Gelareh Mohammadzadeh
2005Daniel Isaac Schwartz
2004Scott Walsh
2003Lorne Zinman
WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux