Postgraduate Medical Trainee Leadership Award


The purpose of the Postgraduate Medical Trainee Leadership Awards is to recognize up to 6 postgraduate trainees on an annual basis who through their efforts and innovations have contributed positively either internally (i.e. Program, Department, Faculty, University, Hospital) or externally (i.e. locally, nationally, internationally) in any one or more of the following four areas:

  • Leadership;
  • Excellence in teaching;
  • Cultural competency, or,
  • Diversity advocacy


Each Postgraduate Medical Trainee Leadership Award prize is $500.

The awards are to be distributed among up to 6 registered postgraduate trainees who are:

  • Canadian Medical Graduate(s) – 2
  • International Medical Graduate(s) – 2
  • Internationally Funded Resident – 1
  • Clinical Fellow – 1

Criteria and Consideration

Applicants must be registered postgraduate trainees at the University of Toronto for the current academic year.

Nomination Process

Each nomination package must have 1 copy of the following:

  • Nomination Form (To be completed by the nominator)
  • Curriculum Vitae
  • Nomination letter from Chair, Program Director or Faculty Member (Letter to be a maximum of two pages with a word limit of 500)
  • Up to 3 Letters of reference (Note that the nominator cannot be a reference)

Selection Process

The applications will be reviewed and ranked by the Postgraduate Awards Committee. Winners will be notified in May.

If you have any questions, please contact Arlene McKinley.

* Incomplete applications will be discarded without consideration

Current & Past Winners

Please see below a list of award recipients, or view the recipient gallery.

2023Benjamin Cassidy
Warner Finstad
Jennia Michaeli
Mary (Alix) Murphy
Kelsey Shannon
Nikhita Singhal
2022Maxime Billick
Bushra Khan
Phavalan Rajendram
2021Maha Al Mandhari
Rachel Carr
Michael Colacci
Sara Jdiaa
Faraj Massouh
Hayley Spurr
2020Omar Albassam
Danielle Buell
Melany Gaetani
Marie-Pier Lirette
Tyler Groves
Siobhán Neville
Sarah Smith
2019Taher Ahmed
Samah Alkhawashki
Ryan Luther
Ryan Perlus
Luciana Rodriguez Guerineau
Michelle Sukhu
2018Leora Branfield Day
Justin Chang
Justin Hall
Rachelle Krause
Alex Summers
Brie Yama
2017Ahmed Al Mazrou’i
Nicole Cohen
Alia Dharamsi
Naveed Syed
Karen Wang
Fabio Ynoe de Moraes
2016Danielle Baribeau
Silvio Bruni
Helena Frecker
Amanda Gardhouse
Sivakumar Gulasingam
Pablo Perez D’Empaire
2015Tarek Abdelhalim
Matthew Boyle
Michael Fralick
Danielle Rodin
2014Alireza Fotouhi Ghiam
Catherine Ho
Eric Monteiro
Kaif Pardhan
Nashwah Taha
Michelle Van Walraven
2013Jonathan Ailon
Charles Kassardjian
2012Lauren Lapointe
Peter Lugomirski
Catharine Walsh
2011Firas Al-Rawi
Samiah Al-Zaidy
Adam Kaufman
Blathnaid McCoy
Dalia Rotstein
2010Mohammad Alsuwaidan
Paul Bunce
Elisa Greco
Edward Hickey
2009Hosam Fawzy
Meredith Giuliani
Fiona Kouyoumdjian
Gilbert Tang
WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux