

#### WELCOME!

#### All Program Directors & FM Site Directors Meeting

### Friday, June 20, 2014



Postgraduate Medical Education UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

### Agenda

**INNOVATION • INTEG** 

- Welcome
- Program Directors New and Exiting
- Faculty and Resident Awards
- PGMExchange Learning Repository
- Global Health PGME
- Strategic Plan

### Exiting Residency Program Directors - from July 2013

- Dr. Simon Raphael Anatomical Pathology
- Dr. Linda Probyn Diagnostic Radiology
- Dr. Karen Woolfrey Emergency Medicine
- Dr. Roy Wyman Family Med: Enhanced Skills
- Dr. Bernard Fernandes Hematological Pathology
- Dr. Wai-Ching Lam Ophthalmology
- Dr. Ted Gerstle Paediatric Surgery
- Dr. Fran Scott Public Health and Preventive Medicine

#### New Residency Program Directors - from July 2013

- Dr. Shachar Sade Anatomical Pathology
- Dr. Eric Bartlett Diagnostic Radiology
- Dr. Joel Yaphe Emergency Medicine
- Dr. Julia Alleyne Family Med: Enhanced Skills
- Dr. Rumina Musani Hematological Pathology
- Dr. John Lloyd Ophthalmology
- Dr. Agostino Pierro Paediatric Surgery

#### Awards Acknowledgements -Previously Presented



### 2014 PGME Excellence Awards

<u>Development/Innovation</u> Dr. Ari Zaretsky – Psychiatry Dr. Oleg Safir – Surgery

#### <u>Teaching</u> <u>Performance/Mentorship/Advocacy</u>:

Dr. Ronald Kodama - Urology

Dr. Steven Shadowitz - General Internal Med

## Sarita Verma Award for Advocacy and Mentorship in Postgraduate Medicine

#### Dr. James Maskalyk



### PARO Award Winners

**Excellence in Clinical Teaching** 

Dr. Steven Dilkas – Physiatry

Dr. Stan Feinberg – General Surgery

#### Citizenship Awards for Medical Students Gary Yang

Sabrina Nurmohamed



#### PARO Award Winners (con'd)

#### **Resident Teaching Awards**

Dr. Michael Fralick - Core Internal Medicine

Dr. Debra Hamer - Psychiatry



#### **Charles Mickle Fellowship**

Awarded annually to a member of the medical profession anywhere in the world who has "..done the most within the preceding 10 years to advance and promote sound knowledge of a practical kind in medical art or science by careful and thorough work."



#### 2014 Charles Mickle Fellow

- Dr. Rayfel Schneider, MBBCh, FRCPC
- Professor, Department of Paediatrics
- Associate Chair, Medical Education, Department of Paediatrics, 2007 to present
- Director, Postgraduate Education, Division of Rheumatology, 2000 -2007





# PGME Trainee Leadership Awards: 2014 Winners

 Dr. Alireza Fotouhi Ghiam – PGY4 Radiation Oncology

Dr. Catherine Ho – PGY4
Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation



# PGME Trainee Leadership Awards: 2014 Winners

- Dr. Eric Monteiro Clinical Fellow Otolaryngology – HNS
- Dr. Kaif Pardhan PGY4 Emergency Medicine

# PGME Trainee Leadership Awards: 2014 Winners

Dr. Nashwah Taha – PGY5
Adult Endo & Metabolism

 Dr. Michelle Van Walraven – PGY2 Family Medicine