Boards & Committees

The following boards and committees are organized by the PGME Office. Each board or committee section contains information pertaining to meeting dates, reference materials as well as agendas and minutes.

The Board of Examiners (BOE-PG) is a committee of faculty and residents appointed by the Faculty Council of the Faculty of Medicine, University of Toronto. At the request of the Program Director and Vice Dean, Post MD Education, the BOE-PG reviews the cases of residents in academic difficulty and determines the appropriate course(s) of action, which may include remediation, remediation with probation, probation or suspension and dismissal.

The BOE-PG committee meets on a monthly basis usually on the last Friday of each month. A Program Director who would like to bring forward a case to be considered by the committee must notify PGME approximately 4 weeks in advance of the BOE meeting date in the month they wish to bring forward a case (Please see BOE Meeting schedule for deadline dates).

Meeting Dates

Please see below the BOE-PG meeting schedule for the academic year, or download the BOE-PG Meeting Schedule.

*Please note that the deadline dates have changed

Meeting Date Deadline for submitting DRAFT report Deadline for submitting FINAL report
March 25, 2022 Fri Mar 4 Fri Mar 11
April 29, 2022 Fri Apr 8 Mon Apr 18
May 27, 2022 Fri May 6 Fri May 13
June 24, 2022 Fri Jun 3 Fri Jun 10
July 29, 2022 Fri Jul 8 Fri Jul 15
August 26, 2022 Fri Aug 5 Fri Aug 12
September 30, 2022 Fri Sep 9 Fri Sep 16
October 21, 2022 Fri Sep 30 Fri Oct 7
November 25, 2022 Fri Nov 4 Fri Nov 11
December 16, 2022 Fri Nov 25 Fri Dec 2
January 27, 2023 Fri Jan 6 Fri Jan 13
February 24, 2023 Fri Feb 3 Fri Feb 10
March 24, 2023 Fri Mar 3 Fri Mar 10
April 28, 2023 Thu Apr 6 Fri Apr 14
May 26, 2023 Fri May 5 Fri May 12
June 30, 2023 Fri Jun 9 Fri Jun 16

Remediation templates

Policies & Procedure Guidelines

The purpose of the BPEA for PGME Advisory Committee is to provide ongoing advice to the Postgraduate Medical Education Advisory Committee (PGMEAC) about best practices, tools and systems for learner assessment and program evaluation (e.g. teacher evaluations, rotation evaluations) for residency education at University of Toronto.

Further details on the Advisory Committee are available in the Terms of Reference.

The Fellowship Education Advisory Committee advises the Vice Dean, Post MD Education on the oversight of fellowship programs, to develop and maintain policies related to clinical fellows.

Reference Materials

Meeting Time & Location

All meetings will take place from 8:00 AM to 9:30 AM at the PGME Office, 500 University Avenue, Suite 602, Boardroom. Please contact Shannon Spencer or phone 416-978-4719 for regrets or information.

Meeting Dates

Listed below are the FEAC meeting dates.

2019-20 2020-21
Tues, Oct 29, 2019 Tues, Oct 20, 2020
Tues, Dec 10, 2019 Tues, Jan 19, 2021
Tues, Feb 25, 2020 Tues, Mar 9, 2021
Tues, Jun 2, 2020 Tues, Jun 1, 2021

Membership

The following table provides a listing of all FEAC members.

Affiliation Member Name
Chair Dr. Cheryl Jaigobin
Associate Dean, PGME Dr. Meredith Giuliani
Director, PGME
(Admissions & Evaluation)
Dr. Linda Probyn
Standing Members Dr. Cheryl Jaigobin (Medicine)
TBA (Paediatrics)
Dr. Mojdan Hodaie (Surgery)
Rotating Members Dr. Jennifer Croke (Radiation Oncology)

Dr. Doreen Yee (Anesthesia)
Dr. Daniel Mueller (Psychiatry)

Affiliated Hospitals / HUEC Dr. Karl Iglar (St. Michael’s Hospital)
Dr. Ahmad Alawamer (UHN)
Clinical Fellows Dr. Vincent Siu (Medicine)
Ex-Officio Jennifer Fischer (Fellowship Administrator - Medicine)
PGME Office PGME Office staff as required

The internal review process is overseen by the Internal Review Committee (IRC), the Family Medicine Internal Review Subcommittee (FM-IRSC) and the Postgraduate Medical Education Advisory Committee (PGMEAC). The Internal Review Committee will focus on supporting the programs that have scheduled follow-up in the next 3 years. Subsequent follow-up with the remaining programs will take place during the regular internal review process. Customized reports on internal review findings are provided to departments and sites throughout the accreditation cycle.

Further details on the Internal Review Committee are available in the Terms of Reference.

Family Medicine Internal Review Subcommittee

The Family Medicine Internal Review Subcommittee (FM-IRSC) is an ad hoc subcommittee of the IRC and the PGMEAC of the University of Toronto, Faculty of Medicine.

The FM-IRSC provides qualitative and formative feedback to the Family Medicine Residency Program Committee, Family Medicine Program Directors, and the Divisional Site Directors. Recommendations from the FM-IRSC with respect to internal reviews, follow-up reports, or follow-up reviews are intended to assist programs and sites in building on strengths and identifying weaknesses, and are subject to approval by the IRC. Membership of this committee consists of teaching faculty, educators, site directors (current, former), IRC members, and senior residents.

The Postgraduate Medical Education Advisory Committee advises the Dean and Vice Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and generates policy recommendations to the Faculty Council on all matters related to Postgraduate Medical Education, including those brought to it by its committees.

Reference Materials

PGMEAC Meeting Dates

2022 2023
Friday, May 27
(All PDs & FMSD)
Friday, January 27
June - No Meeting Friday, February 24
Friday, September 30
(All PDs and FMSD)
March - No Meeting
Friday, October 21 Friday, April 28
Friday, November 25 Friday, May 26
(All PDs and FMSD)
Friday, December 16
(All PDs and FMSD)
June - No Meeting

Time & Location

All meetings are held at the PGME Office, 500 University Avenue, 6th floor, Room 602, Boardroom; except for All Program Director Meetings which will be announced closer to the meeting date. 

Meetings are held from 12:30 to 2:30 pm with lunch available at 12:15pm.

Membership Listing

Last Name First Name Affiliation Email
Atkinson Adelle Core Pediatrics adelle.atkinson@sickkids.ca
Bell Mary CPSO Rep Mary.bell@sunnybrook.ca
Bernstein Stacey UG Clerkship stacey.bernstein@sickkids.ca
Bezjak Andrea Radiation Oncology andrea.bezjak@rmp.uhn.ca
Campisi Paolo Otolaryngology paolo.campisi@sickkids.ca
Clancey Savannah Chair, PAAC savannah.clancey@sickkids.ca
Done Susan Anatomical Pathology Susan.Done@uhn.ca
Erlick Lawrence Hosp: Chief, DFCM & Medical Director, UG and PG Education lerlick@tsh.to
Farrugia Michele Obstetrics & Gynecology mm.farrugia@utoronto.ca
Fleming Rachel Diagnostic Radiology rachel.fleming@utoronto.ca
Goguen Jeannette Core Internal Medicine Jeannette.Goguen@unityhealth.to
Hodaie Mojgan Director, PG Education, Surgery mojgan.hodaie@uhn.ca
Iglar Karl Hosp: Director, PGME, SMH karl.iglar@utoronto.ca
James Jacqueline Hosp: VP Education, Sinai Health System jacqueline.James@sinaihealthsystem.ca
Jones Nicola Clinician Investigator Program nicola.jones@sickkids.ca
Kumagai Arno Medicine Subspecialties arno.kumagai@utoronto.ca
Lloyd John Ophthalmology john.lloyd@sunnybrook.ca
Murdoch Stu Family Medicine stu.murdoch@utoronto.ca
Pakes Barry Public Health Preventive Medicine barry.pakes@utoronto.ca
Sirianni Giovanna Family Medicine Enhanced Skills fammed.enhanced@utoronto.ca
Tan Adrienne Psychiatry Adrienne.Tan@uhn.ca
You-Ten Eric Anesthesia fung.you.ten@utoronto.ca
PARO Representatives PARO sreyes@paroteam.ca
rtrowell@paroteam.ca

Ex Officio / PGME

Member Affiliation Email
Abrahams, Caroline Director, Policy, Analysis & Systems caroline.abrahams@utoronto.ca
Fechtig, Lindsey Edu Deans lindsey.fechtig@utoronto.ca
Freeland, Alison VP Education THP/AD Med Ed Regional alison.freeland@utoronto.ca
Glover Takahashi, Susan Director, Education Integration Group sglover.takahashi@utoronto.ca
Guiang, Charlie Associate Director, Resident Wellness charlie.guiang@utoronto.ca
Houston, Patricia Vice Dean, Medical Education patricia.houston@utoronto.ca
Matlow, Anne Faculty Lead, Strategic Initiatives anne.matlow@utoronto.ca
Morris, Maureen Associate Director, Operations maureenf.morris@utoronto.ca
Murgaski, Laura Leigh Program Manager, Education & Quality Systems laura.murgaski@utoronto.ca
Pattani, Reena Director, FOM Learner Experience reena.pattani@utoronto.ca
Probyn, Linda Director, PG Admissions & Evaluation linda.probyn@sunnybrook.ca
Spencer, Shannon International Relationship Manager sd.spencer@utoronto.ca
St. Amant, Lisa CBME Project Lead lisa.st.amant@utoronto.ca

The Postgraduate Administrators Advisory Committee (PAAC) provides collaborative support, orientation, and essential knowledge pertaining to the medical education administrator role. The committee also provides advice to the Postgraduate Medical Education Advisory Committee (PGMEAC) on enhancing program support for administrators in academic departments, medical education and training sites affiliated with postgraduate medical education.

Reference Materials

PAAC Meeting Dates

2021 2022
September 21 January 19
November 23 February 22
March 26
April 26
May 17
June 21

Time & Location

Meetings for the 2021-2022 academic year will be from 12:30-1:30pm and will be held virtually.

Committee Contact Information

Should you wish to contact PAAC directly and confidentially, please email utoronto.paac@gmail.com and a PAAC committee member will respond.

On an annual basis, the Quotas Subcommittee:

  • Reviews the criteria and principles for allocation of PGY1 positions for the upcoming CaRMS
    match (July-August)
  • Considers criteria and principles for allocation of other PGY positions for advanced training, reentry,
    repatriation, transfers, subspecialty positions (including CCFP-PGY3) as well as PGY1
    positions for Visa trainees and capacity for assessment of IMGs.
  • Receives and reviews submissions from programs on the allocation of PGY positions and
    assessment capacity in accordance with MOHLTC directives and the University of Toronto’s
    mission (July/August)
  • Recommends the CaRMS quotas and transfer options for the next match for Pool A and Pool B to
    PGMEAC (September/October)
  • Reviews and makes recommendations on the allocation of other PGY positions as identified above
    to PGMEAC (Ongoing throughout the year as per CaRMS timetables)

To learn more about the Quotas Subcommittee, please review the Terms of Reference.

The Simulation Education Advisory Committee (SEAC) was established in 2016 as a source of advice to the Vice Dean Post MD Education about the coordination and optimization of simulation expertise and resources within the Faculty of Medicine university and hospital network.

The SEAC gathers and shares information about educational simulation activities, develops guidelines to streamline processes and improve access to simulation resources, promotes innovation and best practice, and creates a vision for education simulation in the Faculty of Medicine.

Reference Materials

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux