Light bulbs in a row


New Deadline Dates for PGME Awards

Dear Colleagues,

We are pleased to announce the upcoming submission deadlines for the following PGME awards:

  1. CAME Rising Star Certificate of Excellence - submission deadline November 3, 2023
  2. PARO Resident Teaching Award – submission deadline December 1, 2023
  3. Robert Sheppard Award – submission deadline January 12, 2024
  4. Social Responsibility Award – submission deadline January 19, 2024
  5. Awards for Excellence in Postgraduate Medical Education – submission deadline January 12, 2024
  6. Sarita Verma Award – submission deadline February 2, 2024
  7. Postgraduate Medical Trainee Leadership Award – submission deadline March 15, 2024
  8. Postgraduate Research Award – submission deadline April 5, 2024
  9. CSCI/CIHR Award – submission deadline July 5, 2024
  10. Charles Mickle Award - submission deadline March 15, 2024
  11. M Ian Bowmer Award for Leadership in Social Responsibility - submission deadline March 15, 2024
  12. W Dale Dauphinee Award for Excellence in Medical Education and Assessment - submission deadline March 15, 2024


Please note:
The U of T PGME Award Adjudication Committee members review several submissions for multiple award categories throughout the academic year for which we are very appreciative. Keeping this in mind, announcements regarding successful submissions of awards may take longer than usual due to Covid-19. We aim to announce winners as soon as possible following the submission deadlines.

We appreciate the commitment of all applicants who submit award applications that highlight the innovative and interesting work being done in our medical education community.

If you have any questions, please contact Arlene McKinley.

The PGME Office administers the following 13 awards and 2 scholarships:

Awards open to PGME Trainees & Graduate Students

CAME, CSCI/CIHR, M Ian Bowmer for Leadership in Social Responsibility, PARO, PG Research, PG Medical Trainee Leadership, W Dale Dauphinee for Excellence in Medical Ed & Assessment

Awards open to Faculty and Staff

Charles Mickle Fellowship, Sarita Verma for Advocacy & Mentorship in PG Medicine, Temerty Medicine Awards for Excellence in PG Medical Education

Awards open to Faculty & PGME Trainees

Robert Sheppard for Health Equity and Social Justice, Social Responsibility in PG Medical Education

Other PGME Awards & Grants

Medical Humanities Grant, Charles Mickle Fellowship


Clinician Scientist Graduate, Clinician Educator Graduate

If you have any questions about awards administered by PGME please contact Arlene McKinleyFor awards not administered by PGME, please see the individual pages listed below for contact information.

Awards not administered by PGME: