Staff at Board Meeting

Boards & Committees

The following boards and committees are organized by the PGME Office. Each board or committee section contains information pertaining to meeting dates, reference materials as well as agendas and minutes.

Board of Examiners (BOE)

The Board of Examiners (BOE-PG) is a committee of faculty and residents appointed by the Faculty Council of the Faculty of Medicine, University of Toronto. At the request of the Program Director and Vice Dean, Post MD Education, the BOE-PG reviews the cases of residents in academic difficulty and determines the appropriate course(s) of action, which may include remediation, remediation with probation, probation or suspension and dismissal.

The BOE-PG committee meets on a monthly basis usually on the last Friday of each month. A Program Director who would like to bring forward a case to be considered by the committee must notify PGME at least 5 weeks in advance of the BOE meeting date in the month they wish to bring forward a case (please see BOE Meeting schedule for deadline dates).

Meeting Dates

Please see below the BOE-PG meeting schedule for the academic year, or download the BOE-PG Meeting Schedule.

*Please note that the deadline dates have changed

Meeting Date Deadline for submitting DRAFT report Deadline for submitting FINAL report
April 26, 2024 Fri Apr 5 Fri Apr 12
May 24, 2024 Fri May 3 Fri May 10
June 21, 2024 Fri Jun 7 Fri Jun 14
July 26, 2024 Fri Jul 5 Fri Jul 12
August 30, 2024 Fri Aug 8 Fri Aug 16
September 27, 2024 Fri Sep 6 Fri Sep 13
October 25, 2024 Fri Oct 4 Fri Oct 11
November 29, 2024 Fri Nov 8 Fri Nov 15
December 20, 2024 Fri Nov 29 Fri Dec 6
January 31, 2025 Fri Jan 10 Fri Jan 17
February 28, 2025 Fri Feb 7 Fri Feb 14
March 28, 2025 Fri Mar 7 Fri Mar 14
April 25, 2025 Fri Apr 4 Fri Apr 11
May 30, 2025 Fri May 9 Thu May 15
June 20, 2025 Fri May 30 Fri Jun 6
July 2025 (TBD) TBD TBD

Policies & Procedure Guidelines

Fellowship Education Advisory Committee (FEAC)

The Fellowship Education Advisory Committee advises the Associate Dean, PGME and Vice Dean, Medical Education on the oversight of fellowship programs, to develop and maintain policies related to clinical fellows.

Reference Materials

Meeting Time & Location

All meetings will take place from 8:00 AM to 9:30 AM via Zoom. Please contact the PGME office at postgrad.med@utoronto.ca for more information.

Meeting Dates

Listed below are the FEAC meeting dates.

2023-24
September 27th
November 29th
January 24th
March 27th
May 29th

Membership

The following table provides a listing of all FEAC members.

Affiliation Member Name
Chair, Faculty Lead. Fellowships Dr. John Granton
Associate Dean, PGME Dr. Meredith Giuliani
Director, Policy & Systems Caroline Abraham
Director, Operations Maureen Morris
Director, Accreditation Dr. Linda Probyn
International Relationship Manager Shannon Spencer
Project Manager, Fellowships Veronica Marrone
Manager, Admissions & Registration Janine Hubbard
Administration Coordinator Samantha Chin
Standing Members Dr. Najma Ahmed
  Dr. Mojdan Hodaie
  Dr. Daniel Mueller
  Dr. Jennifer Croke
  Dr. Ahmed Al-Awamer
  Dr. Doreen Yee 
  Dr. Sara Naimimohasses
  Dr. Cheryl Jaigobin
  Dr. Karl Iglar (HUEC)
  Dr. Kiki Vona
  Dr. Kevin Higgins
  Dr. David Hwang
  Dr. Richard Pittini
  Dr. Mini Pakkal
  Dr. Adelle Atkinson
Clinical Fellows Dr. Jia Ng
  Dr. Rhandi Christensen
  Dr. Azra Shivji
  Dr. Giovanna Sirianni
Ex-Officio Members: Olivia Beasley
  Violetta Sochka
  Rafal Ramzi
  Valerie Hilderal
  Paula Nixon
  Sarah Bakhit
  Savannah Clancey
  Victoria Snell
  Pillar Barrios

 

Internal Review Committee (IRC)

The internal review process is overseen by the Internal Review Committee (IRC), the Family Medicine Internal Review Subcommittee (FM-IRSC), the Areas of Focused Competence Internal Review Subcommittee (AFC-IRSC), and the Postgraduate Medical Education Advisory Committee (PGMEAC). Customized reports on internal review findings are provided to departments and sites throughout the accreditation cycle. 

Further details on the IRC are available in the Terms of Reference.

Internal Review Subcommittees

The FM-IRSC and the AFC-IRSC are ad hoc subcommittees of the IRC and the PGMEAC at the University of Toronto, Faculty of Medicine.

The FM-IRSC provides qualitative and formative feedback to the Family Medicine Residency Program Committee, Family Medicine Program Directors, and Divisional Site Directors. Similarly, the AFC-IRSC offers feedback to the AFC Program Committees and AFC Program Directors. Recommendations from both subcommittees with respect to internal reviews, follow-up reports, or follow-up reviews are intended to assist programs and sites in building on strengths and identifying areas for improvement and are subject to approval by the IRC.

The FM-IRSC's membership consists of teaching faculty, educators, site directors (current and former), IRC members, and senior residents. The AFC-IRSC membership may be drawn from teaching faculty, educators, site directors (current, former), IRC members, senior fellows, and teaching award recipients. Representation may also include person(s) with expertise in postgraduate research programs, bioethics, international medical graduates, foreign medical graduates (visa trainees and fellows) or any area felt to have impact on postgraduate medical training programs.

Postgraduate Medical Education Advisory Committee (PGMEAC)

The Postgraduate Medical Education Advisory Committee advises the Dean and Vice Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and generates policy recommendations to the Faculty Council on all matters related to Postgraduate Medical Education, including those brought to it by its committees.

Reference Materials

PGMEAC Meeting Dates

2022 2023
Friday, May 27 
(All PDs & FMSD)
Friday, January 27
June - No Meeting Friday, February 24
Friday, September 30 
(All PDs and FMSD)
March - No Meeting
Friday, October 21 Friday, April 28
Friday, November 25 Friday, May 26
(All PDs and FMSD)
Friday, December 16
(All PDs and FMSD)
June - No Meeting

Time & Location

All meetings are held at the PGME Office, 500 University Avenue, 6th floor, Room 602, Boardroom; except for All Program Director Meetings which will be announced closer to the meeting date. 

Meetings are held from 12:00 to 2:00 pm.

Membership Listing

Last Name First Name Affiliation Email
Atkinson Adelle Core Pediatrics adelle.atkinson@sickkids.ca
Baker Lindsay CFD Rep lindsay.baker@unityhealth.to
Bell Mary CPSO Rep Mary.bell@sunnybrook.ca
Bezjak Andrea  Radiation Oncology andrea.bezjak@rmp.uhn.ca
Bowry Ashna UG Clerkship Ashna.Bowry@unityhealth.to
Clancey Savannah Chair, PAAC savannah.clancey@sickkids.ca
Done Susan Anatomical Pathology Susan.Done@uhn.ca
Erlick Lawrence Hosp: Chief, DFCM & Medical Director, UG and PG Education lerlick@tsh.to
Farrugia Michele Obstetrics & Gynecology mm.farrugia@utoronto.ca
Fleming Rachel Diagnostic Radiology rachel.fleming@utoronto.ca
Goguen Jeannette Core Internal Medicine Jeannette.Goguen@unityhealth.to
Hodaie Mojgan Director, PG Education, Surgery mojgan.hodaie@uhn.ca
James Jacqueline Hosp: VP Education, Sinai Health System jacqueline.James@sinaihealthsystem.ca
Jones Nicola Clinician Investigator Program  nicola.jones@sickkids.ca
Kumagai Arno Medicine Subspecialties arno.kumagai@utoronto.ca
Lin Vincent Otolaryngology vincent.lin@sunnybrook.ca
Murdoch Stu Family Medicine stu.murdoch@utoronto.ca
Pakes Barry Public Health Preventive Medicine barry.pakes@utoronto.ca
Radhakrishnan Seetha UG Clerkship seetha.radhakrishnan@sickkids.ca
Sirianni Giovanna Family Medicine Enhanced Skills fammed.enhanced@utoronto.ca
Tan Adrienne Psychiatry Adrienne.Tan@uhn.ca
Tavares Walter Wilson Centre Scientist walter.tavares@utoronto.ca
Thompson-Ricci Shari OID Office shari.thompsonricci@utoronto.ca
Weingarten Kevin Peds Core kevin.weingarten@sickkids.ca
You-Ten Eric Anesthesia fung.you.ten@utoronto.ca
PARO Representatives PARO sreyes@paroteam.ca

Ex Officio/PGME

Member Affiliation Email
Giuliani, Meredith Associate Dean, Postgraduate Medical Education (PGME) meredith.giuliani@utoronto.ca
Houston, Patricia Vice Dean, Medical Education patricia.houston@utoronto.ca
Abrahams, Caroline Director, Policy, Analysis & Systems caroline.abrahams@utoronto.ca
Probyn, Linda Director, PG Admissions & Evaluation linda.probyn@sunnybrook.ca
Freeland, Alison VP Education THP/AD Med Ed Regional alison.freeland@utoronto.ca
Morris, Maureen Associate Director, Operations maureenf.morris@utoronto.ca
Murgaski, Laura Leigh Program Manager, Education & Quality Systems laura.murgaski@utoronto.ca
Hynes, Melissa Lead, Learner Education Support melissa.kennedy@utoronto.ca
Spencer, Shannon International Relationship Manager sd.spencer@utoronto.ca
Guiang, Charlie Associate Director, Resident Wellness charlie.guiang@utoronto.ca
Pattani, Reena Director, FOM Learner Experience reena.pattani@utoronto.ca
St. Amant, Lisa CBME Project Lead lisa.st.amant@utoronto.ca
Bevacqua, Lisa Registration and Accreditation Officer lisa.bevacqua@utoronto.ca
Matlow, Anne Faculty Lead, Strategic Initiatives anne.matlow@utoronto.ca

Postgraduate Administrators Advisory Committee (PAAC)

The Postgraduate Administrators Advisory Committee (PAAC) provides collaborative support, orientation, and essential knowledge pertaining to the medical education administrator role. The committee also provides advice to the Postgraduate Medical Education Advisory Committee (PGMEAC) on enhancing program support for administrators in academic departments, medical education and training sites affiliated with postgraduate medical education.

Reference Materials

PAAC Meeting Dates

2021 2022
September 21 January 19
November 23 February 22
  March 26
  April 26
  May 17
  June 21

Time & Location

Meetings for the 2021-2022 academic year will be from 12:30-1:30pm and will be held virtually.

Committee Contact Information

Should you wish to contact PAAC directly and confidentially, please email utoronto.paac@gmail.com and a PAAC committee member will respond.

Quotas Allocation Subcommittee

On an annual basis, the Quotas Subcommittee:

  • Reviews the criteria and principles for allocation of PGY1 positions for the upcoming CaRMS
  • match (July-August)
  • Considers criteria and principles for allocation of other PGY positions for advanced training, reentry,
  • repatriation, transfers, subspecialty positions (including CCFP-PGY3) as well as PGY1
  • positions for Visa trainees and capacity for assessment of IMGs.
  • Receives and reviews submissions from programs on the allocation of PGY positions and
  • assessment capacity in accordance with MOHLTC directives and the University of Toronto’s
  • mission (July/August)
  • Recommends the CaRMS quotas and transfer options for the next match for Pool A and Pool B to
  • PGMEAC (September/October)
  • Reviews and makes recommendations on the allocation of other PGY positions as identified above
  • to PGMEAC (Ongoing throughout the year as per CaRMS timetables)

To learn more about the Quotas Subcommittee, please review the Terms of Reference.